Skip to content
July 19, 2012 / jpeg729

Lenovo x200 tuning

Here is what I did to tune up my lovely Lenovo x200.

UPDATE for Ubuntu 13.04. The fan seems pretty quiet anyway and I have already done some compiling.
The modification of the linux command line is still needed.

Install some thinkpad stuff
sudo apt-get install tp-smapi-dkms thinkfan

tp-smapi-dkms enables enhanced battery stats and charging control.
thinkfan allows software fan control. Mine would spend hours pumping out cold air.

To make sure relevant modules will be loaded add the following lines to /etc/modules

tp_smapi
thinkpad_acpi

Hard drive shock protection

I just installed hdapsd and it works.

Get it to actually turn off when you shutdown

Edit /etc/default/grub changing the line that reads
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash"
to read
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash acpi_osi=Linux"
That also fixes the mute button.

Better battery charge control

To make the battery last longer avoid recharging it if it is only a little bit discharged, etc. as described here. Another tip: Never let the battery fully discharge, that hurts lithium ion batteries each time.

# echo 50 > /sys/devices/platform/smapi/BAT0/start_charge_thresh
# echo 90 > /sys/devices/platform/smapi/BAT0/stop_charge_thresh

You probably have to add those lines to /etc/rc.local to make them stick.

Fan control

Firstly you have to enable fan control, by creating /etc/modprobe.d/thinkpad_acpi.conf with the following contents.
options thinkpad_acpi fan_control=1

Then enable thinkfan by changing START=no to START=yes in /etc/defaults/thinkfan
You can edit /etc/thinkfan.conf to tune the fan behaviour if you like.

CPU undervolting

See here.

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. daviding / Sep 3 2012 7:05 pm

    Thanks for posting these X200 tips. I’m trying them with Ubuntu 12.04.1.

    When I tried sudo apt-get install tp-smapi thinkfan , I got a response of “Unable to locate package tp-smapi”. I went to Synaptic Package Manager. and when I found hdapsd 1:20090401-2, that had tp-smapi-dkms 0.41.1 as a dependency. I installed that. I also installed thinkfan 0.7/3-1.

    I have not yet edited /etc/modules to add “tp_smapi” and “thinkpad_acpi”. In addition, I haven’t created the /etc/modprobe.d/thinkpad_acpi.conf , and don’t see that /etc/defaults/thinkfan exists, as yet.

    Could you please clarify and/or revise the post? Thanks.

  2. jpeg729 / Sep 3 2012 10:16 pm

    Thanks for the help. Indeed it is tp-smapi-dkms – corrected.
    /etc/default/thinkfan comes with the thinkfan package. It probably isn’t yet installed.

  3. James / Dec 18 2012 12:15 am

    Thank you very much for this! Saved me a few headaches 🙂

  4. D.Fustic / Mar 14 2013 8:07 pm

    I usually don’t post comments (not because I am cool, but lazy) but I do have to say this fan control guide has totally saved me, I was going mad with the fan constantly ON on the x200 with linux mint 14. tried several different sites but all assumed i am an expert in linux (which i am not!). this was very helpful and painless to follow, thanks so much….

  5. Mikael / Apr 20 2013 1:07 pm

    Usually don’t reave comments but thanks, really! The fan noise on my lenovo x200 was driving me crazy, but no more. Thanks! (ubuntu 12.04, 3.5.0-27)

  6. Enzo Miniaci / Jan 25 2014 2:21 pm

    This is really useful, thanks! One small thing – on my machine 13.10 I don’t have /etc/defaults/thinkfan , I have /etc/default/thinkfan (no ‘S’). I just thought I’d mention it 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Lenovo Thinkpad X200 ve Ubuntu 12.04 LTS | blog işte

Leave a Reply

